Virtual Christmas Card

Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one."

"Call it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family: Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one."

It’s December 11th, but I have yet to receive even one card, newsletter, or picture (my insurance guy doesn’t count).  This is usually my favorite time of year to check snail mail because I can count on anywhere from 50-75 cards throughout the month.  Even though Christmas is only two weeks from today, I have yet to put up one decoration, nor have I sent out my annual holiday greeting either.

Everyone is busy.  Money is tight for most.  But Christmas will still come. This year it’s all about improvising, so I’m starting a new tradition that will save time, money and be green (which is to say, more ecologically responsible). My first annual Christmas card via blog post.

Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays!

If you want you can print this picture and still hang it on your refrigerator for the next year. This formal one was taken at our dear friend’s wedding in NYC in May. Taylor and Chloe are now taller than me, but because I usually wear the higher heels, it’s rarely obvious!  

img_1038

Taylor is obsessed with NYC and thinks we should move there.  When I told her the cost of living is too high her reply was, “there are poor people who live in NY”. Sigh…from the mouths of babes.  No plans to move east, but if you need to know how to get to Bryant Park, Tribeca, the Village (east or west), Soho, Times Square, or Park, 5th & Madison Avenues, we can probably tell you which subway line to take!

img_1000img_1108img_1077

At the end of the summer both girls decided to retire from gymnastics.  At 13 and nearly 16 they said their bodies felt too old for how young they are.  This last season Taylor competed Level 7 and Chloe competed both Level 5 & 6.  Both made it to state.

img_0532img_0978Handstand on beamTaylor on beam

img_0641

Theater has replaced gymnastics. Taylor was in the dance ensemble for her high school’s fall musical, Thoroughly Modern Millie, and is also in the winter play in January, A Piece of My Heart. Chloe was a dancer in Fame for her middle school.  
tmm5_-163

I’m guessing in addition to the poor economy, email and Facebook are more reasons my mailbox has been so empty during this holiday time. Technology has definitely made it easier to keep up with friends throughout the year. I must admit doing this post beats licking a hundred envelopes. I think I just may be onto something here!

Happy holidays to all…

Merry Christmas

8 thoughts on “Virtual Christmas Card

  1. It’s great to see you and the girls… And what a nice way to keep in touch while making it a bit more interactive for those of us who are also taking a break from the old stamp thing. Thanks for the update!!

  2. Let me be the first to wish you and your lovely daughters a wonderful Christmas season! Loved your “virtual card” and if I ever get more computer savy, I just might copy you! I think it’s a great idea!

  3. It’s great to see all of this about your great year. Wow! How long were you in NYC? I was there YEARS ago on a choir tour from Westmar College — and then again a couple of years ago, playing the piano for some Music Theatre students from CMU. Didn’t get much time on either trip to see much. However, this past time I felt bad to have missed the Statue of Liberty and Ground Zero. I did, however, have a whirlwind tour which included driving by Central Park, walking through the (remodeling) Cathedral of St. John the Divine, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, the Rockefeller building, Warner, The Met, and a bunch of others. I was on call for the kids in their auditions.

    Thanks for this communication. I have to figure out how to do this. Sherry has her own facepage. I will get you the link.

    See you in December.

    Love you lots!

    Phil

  4. Hi! I’m still trying to get a picture for this year’s card…I’m so behind this year. Your girls sure have grown and are as beautiful as ever. We should all get together in January! Merry Christmas!

  5. Hey Girlfriend,
    It was fun to hear about all the activities your girls are in. I’m sorry to hear about your dad. This will be our 2nd year without my dad. He is in a much better place, without pain, and we will see him again someday. We still miss him though. Take Care, Tammy

  6. I was thrilled to get your Christmas card Kat – and let’s just call it that Christmas – Christmas – Christmas! I hate the pc world of Happy Holidays….and the loss of traditions rather than the inclusion of new things in the schools.

    Your girls are beautiful and it was fun to read what you did all year. Let’s get together soon; let’s just say that late November & early December leaving me looking forward to the New Year! xx00 Jill

  7. Kat: Always wonderful hearing from you! Your girls are beautiful and you look as gorgeous (and young) as always. Our Christmas photo and letter are on the way….look for them. Find me on Facebook, too! Blessings!

    Much love…..Christine Meggison

  8. Cool pics…I especially appreciated the background…my dad will be glowing when he sees that! Can’t wait to see you all in just a few days!

    :o) Shauna

Your turn to ponder!

